Winners announced in Annual SDDOT Snowplow Naming Contest

As we face yet another winter storm in our area where snow plows are going to be needed once again, the state Transportation Department announced the winners in the Department’s third annual Name the Snowplow Contest.

The contest was created by the state Department of Transportation to engage people across the state in winter driving safety awareness.  They encourage drivers and travelers to use SD511 resources to make informed travel decisions during winter weather.

When the snowplow naming contest ended on November 30th, more than 650 entries had been submitted by individuals, families, elementary classrooms, senior living centers, and businesses across the entire state. State DOT staff then voted on the submissions. In January, the contest winners will officially meet and take photos with their locally named snowplow.

Following is the list of winning plow names for the 12 SDDOT Areas:
Aberdeen Area:  Luke Ice Walker
Belle Fourche Area:  Catch My Drift
Custer Area:  Black Hills Cold Rush
Huron Area:  Thawsome
Mitchell Area:  Sleetwood Mac
Mobridge Area:  Snow Force One
Pierre Area:  Little Plow on the Prairie
Sioux Falls Area:  Blizzard Buster
Rapid City Area:  Betty White-Out
Watertown Area:  Snowmagator
Winner Area:  Plowabunga
Yankton Area:  605 Polar Express

January 2, 2023