Four Dakota State University faculty members received awards at the annual Honors Reception on April 18.


Dr. Andrew Sathoff, Assistant Professor in the College of Arts and Sciences, was named the Alexander “Sandy” Davidson Award winner for Excellence in Advising & Mentorship. 

The Merrill Hunter Award for Excellence in Research was presented to Dr. Cherie Noteboom, a Professor in the College of Business & Information Systems. 


The Ernest Teagarden Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Dr. Katie Anderson, Assistant Professor in The College of Education. 


Dr. Rich Avery was honored with the DeWayne Mork Award for Excellence in Service. He is a Professor in the College of Arts & Sciences.


In a new category created this year, four faculty were named Outstanding Research Mentors. These awards recognize faculty members who served as exceptional mentors to undergraduate researchers. Through their guidance, encouragement, and expertise, they have played a pivotal role in nurturing the talents and ambitions of Dakota State students.

These mentors were nominated by their students, highlighting the profound impact they have had on shaping the next generation of scholars and researchers.