Students Receive Scholarships For FFA Summer Leadership Retreats

Agriculture education teachers/FFA advisors make a world of difference for the students they teach. This spring, as part of an FFA Advisor Tribute Scholarship application, students put into words how their Ag teachers/FFA advisors have impacted their lives. Twenty-eight outstanding examples of amazing teachers impacting their students have been chosen out of the applicants, and winning students will each receive scholarships to attend a SD FFA Leadership Retreat this summer.

Local winners of the GDM Solutions scholarship are Brooklynn Kranzt of Dell Rapids, Faith Genzlinger of Howard, Macy Patch of Madison & Lacie Weber of Rutland.

Kate Klein of Madison is  the local winner of the Sioux Valley Energy Scholarship.

Scholarships are made possible through the SD FFA Foundation by the West River Electric Association, GDM Solutions, Sioux Valley Energy, and the Walt Johnson Memorial Fund; in memory of two past FFA advisors: Leonard DeBoer and Walt Johnson. 

A complete list of FFA Summer Leadership Retreat Scholarship winners can be found below.


List of winners for website is below

GDM Solutions

Brooklynn Krantz, Dells; Faith Genzlinger, Howard; Kenna Schilling, Lennox Sundstrom; Macy Patch, Madison Central; Megan Wiese, Milbank; Nevaeh Podhradsky, Parker; Hilary Polreis, Parkston; Lacie Weber, Rutland; Wendi Silverthorn, Viborg Hurley; and Rhyanna Rudebusch, Wilmont.

Leonard DeBoer Memorial

Aubree Miller, Gregory County and Norah Zubke, Webster/Waubay

Sioux Valley Energy

Mikalyn Kelly, Brookings; Connor May, Brookings; and Kate Klein, Madison Cenral.

Walt Johnson Memorial

Rachel Lee, Balle Fourche; Taya Kirstine, Belle Fourche; Wyatt Lesmeister, Belle Fourche; Jordan Van De Stroet, Canton; Riley Johnson, Doland; Elizabeth Von Eye, Kimball; Sage Voegele, Parker; Ellie Storm, Sturgis; Claire Campbell, Viborg Hurley; LaMiya Baker, Viborg Hurley; and Micah Pelzel, Wilmot.

West River Electric Association 

Sebastian Garcia, Rapid City Stevens and Brenna Whitford, Sturgis


For more information about the South Dakota FFA Foundation and South Dakota’s FFA programs, visit