Sobriety checkpoints scheduled for July

South Dakota’s Department of Public Safety has announced the list of sobriety checkpoints planned statewide for the month of July. 

The fifteen sobriety checkpoints will be held in fourteen different counties. The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive.  

In our area, July checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Beadle, Brookings, Lincoln and Minnehaha counties.  Other counties included in this month’s checkpoints are Bennett, Campbell, Charles Mix, Fall River, Jackson, Lawrence, Pennington, Roberts, Stanley and Yankton.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. 

The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.




July 8, 2022