Touchstone Energy hosts Scholar of the Year Banquet

Touchstone Energy® Cooperatives in eastern South Dakota and western Minnesota honored

some of the area’s most impressive high school seniors Saturday, April 27, during the 22nd Annual Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Year Banquet and recognition held at McCrory Gardens on the campus of South Dakota State University.


The event honored the 34 high school students who were chosen each week throughout the school year as the Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Week. It’s a program which recognizes students for academic achievement, co-curricular involvement, and community service. The students are featured in weekly segments which air on Dakota News Now television and each student receives a $250 scholarship for being chosen as the Scholar of the Week.


Kellen Kueter, (Key-ter) a senior at Montrose High School within Southeastern Electric’s territory, was selected during the banquet as the Touchstone Energy Scholar of the Year and received a $1,000 award. Quinton Berg, a senior at Bridgewater-Emery, within Central Electric’s territory, and Trey Maaland, a senior from Clear Lake, within H-D Electric’s territory received $500 scholarship awards. The winners’ names were drawn from among those in attendance.