SD Pro Start Invitational Results

Teams of South Dakota high school students put their culinary and hospitality management skills to the test at the 2024 South Dakota ProStart Invitational, held March 12 in Pierre. Champion high schools include Northeast Technical High School (Watertown), T.F. Riggs High School (Pierre), and Sioux Falls CTE Academy.


Sioux Falls CTE Academy took the top prize in the culinary division, earning them a place in the national ProStart competition in Baltimore, MD, on April 26-28.  

Northeast Technical High School won first place and will advance to the national competition. 

Finally, T.F. Riggs students MacKenize Magee and Kierstan Miller’s Saint Patrick’s Day-themed dessert took home first-place in cake decorating, a competition unique to South Dakota. 

 At the end of the competition, two students were presented with culinary achievement awards for their exceptional skills.


Alex Spell of Mitchell CTE Academy was awarded the President’s Award, given to an individual who exhibits leadership throughout the day’s tough competition. 


The South Dakota Retailers Association, along with guest judges, honored Alex Brenner of Sioux Falls CTE Academy. Brenner received the Knife Skills Award due to her overall technique and talent in the kitchen.


Participating schools in the 2024 South Dakota ProStart Invitational included: Madison Central High School, Florence High School, Harrisburg High School, Huron High School, Mitchell Career and Technical Academy, Mobridge-Pollock High School, Northeast Technical High School (Watertown), Sioux Falls Career and Technical Academy, Sturgis Brown High School, and T.F. Riggs High School (Pierre).