Lake County Primary Election Candidates

The Lake County Auditor’s Office is no longer accepting nominating petitions for this year’s primary elections. Several candidates are in the running for a number of offices up for election.


Four republicans have filled as candidates running for one of the three Lake County Commission seats that are open. Those candidates are Ryan Gebauer, and current commissioners Dennis Slaughter, Adam Leighton and Deb Reinicke. Charlie Johnson is running for County Commission as a democrat, and will be joined on the November ballot by the three republicans who win the June primary. 


Current Sheriff Sarina Talich was the only person to submit petitions for County Sheriff, and Aaron Johnson filed for a four year term as Conservation District Supervisor.


Aaron Francis McGowan and incumbent Wendy Kloeppner (Klep-ner) are running for a term as Lake County State’s Attorney. Both have filed as republicans.


The Lake County primary election will be held on June 4, 2024 with the general election happening on November 5, 2024