District 8 Senator Crabtree discusses leadership role in upcoming legislative session

The next legislative session is just under two months away and new leadership has been selected for both the House and the Senate.  District 8 Senator Casey Crabtree of Madison has been elected the Majority Leader of the Senate for the upcoming legislative session.  He said he looks forward to the challenge.  

Crabtree said he wants Senate Republicans to function as a team.

Crabtree said there are strong personalities and opinions among the majority party.

Crabtree was appointed to the seat in June of 2020, then elected that November.

Senator Lee Schoenbeck of Watertown was re-elected President-pro-tem of the Senate.

(Thanks, WNAX)


PIERRE, S.D. (AP) — Republican Rep. Will Mortenson has been elected to serve as majority leader in the South Dakota House of Representatives. Mortenson, a Pierre attorney, defeated Scott Odenbach, of Spearfish, and Rebecca Reimer, of Oacoma. Mortenson says he hopes to unify the House members, 40% of whom are new to a GOP group with an overwhelming majority. He says the first-year members will help eliminate some of the scars from years past. Republicans named Rep. Taylor Rehfeldt of Sioux Falls as assistant majority leader. Rep. Hugh Bartels of Watertown was elected to serve as speaker of the house and Rep. Mike Stevens of Yankton was selected as speaker pro tem.


November 21, 2022