DSU Hall of Fame.

The Dakota State University Athletics Department inducted seven new individual members as well as one team into the 27th annual Hall of Fame on Saturday June 3rd, at Dakota Prairie Playhouse.  Inductees included former men’s and women’s cross country/track & field athletes, a dual sport athlete in women’s basketball and track & field, and members of the 2009 DSU Trojan men’s cross country team.


New members of the Hall of Fame include Andy Coy from the class of 2013.  Coy was a six-time NAIA All-America runner for Dakota State track & field.  He also collected the first male national title in school history, winning the  1000-meter national title in 2012.


Other inductees include: 2008 Male Athlete of the Year Chris Heezen, dual-sport stand out Laura (Tewes) Schaefer, 4 time national qualifier Kristie (Vanden Hoek) Ogle, seven time Dakota Athletic Conference champion runner Tyler Van Peursem, and four-time NAIA All-American Matthew Fideler.


DSU also honored the 2009 DSU Men’s Cross Country Dakota Athletic Conference Championship team, who won the first-ever DAC men’s cross-country title. The 2009 team was coached by Trent Mack.