Trojan Athletic Awards handed out this week

This past Monday, Dakota State University announced its annual awards virtually. There were many awards handed out, including outstanding athletes and the Dusty Andersen Memorial award.

There were two DSU athletes for Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year. Conner Tordsen and Treshawn Roberts shared the award.

Tordsen was part of the track & field program. He led DSU to their fourth North Star Athletic Association title in the last five years, while capturing numerous school records including the hammer and discus throw. 

Roberts was also selected for the award for his performances in his indoor and outfield track & field events. Roberts was also voted as the NSAA Men’s Indoor Track & Field Most Valuable Athlete award by the league’s head coaches.

Elsie Aslesen, of the women’s basketball team, won the award for The Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year. She was a dominant spot on a team that had a great year with 29 wins and a trip to their first ever NAIA Women’s Basketball national semifinals. She was also voted as the league’s Defensive Player of the Year. Aslesen led the team in points, blocks, and averaged over seven rebounds. 

Mason Macaluso won the 2023 Dusty Andersen Memorial Award for the second straight year. The award is given to a male basketball or baseball player who is active with campus activities. Macaluso was a key part in the baseball team while also being actively involved in the Varsity Club, Student Senate, band, and the physical education major club. He also holds the DSU school record for home runs and RBIs.