District 8 State Representative Tim Reisch of Howard has been selected to serve on a special

legislative committee that will meet throughout the summer months to examine property tax

assessment methodology. Commonly referred to as “summer studies,” these interim

committees are established by the Executive Board of the SD Legislature to gather information

on topics of statewide concern and develop actions to address them.


Senator Randy Deibert of Spearfish and Representative Drew Peterson of Salem will serve as

co-chairs of the committee. Other members include Rep. Kirk Chafee (Whitewood), Rep. Mary

Fitzgerald (Spearfish), Sen. Jean Hunhoff (Yankton), Sen. Liz Larson (Sioux Falls), Sen. Al

Novstrup (Aberdeen), Rep. Ernie Otten (Tea), Rep. Marty Overweg (New Holland), and Sen. Larry Zikmund (Sioux Falls).