The Executive Board of the Legislature announced the Senate membership on the Ellsworth Task Force, which will explore current and future developments surrounding Ellsworth Air Force Base.

Senate members of the Ellsworth Task Force are Chair – Senator Michael Walsh, Senator Red Dawn Foster, Senator Helene Duhamel, Senator Jean Hunhoff and Senator Casey Crabtree.

The formation of this task force underscores South Dakota’s commitment to the continued success and viability of Ellsworth Air Force Base and the surrounding region. 

Majority Leader Casey Crabtree said the Senate has made economic development in South Dakota a major priority. We have the opportunity to strengthen America’s national security and grow prosperity for the surrounding region. These Senators understand the importance of Ellsworth Air Force Base to our state and nation.

The Ellsworth Task Force will convene for its inaugural meeting with House members at an upcoming date. The Ellsworth Task Force plans to convene for meetings in Box Elder and Sioux Falls in the legislative interim period.