Local elections on ballot in General Election

Voters in Lake County have a couple of local races on the ballot Tuesday.

There are four candidates vying for the three seats open on the Lake County Commission.  Democrat John Doblar and Republicans Adam Leighton, Dennis Slaughter, and Deb Reinicke are the candidates on the ballot for the Lake County Commission.  Commissioners serve four-year terms.

Also in Lake County, voters will choose two candidates to serve District 8 in the State House of Representatives.  On the ballot are Republican incumbents Marli Wiese and Randy Gross, along with challengers Democrats Val Parsley and John Kessinger.  District 8 is made up of Lake, Miner, Moody, and Sanborn counties.

Republican Casey Crabtree is the only candidate on the ballot for the District 8 Senate race.

Along with the local elections, Lake County voters will also vote on presidential electors, U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, and a Public Utilities Commissioner.   Voters statewide decide on a pair of marijuana questions — one to legalize medical marijuana, and another to okay recreational pot. They also will decide on whether sports wagering should be allowed in Deadwood.

Local election information and results can be found here.