Two members of the Madison Bulldogs were named today, to the Class 11A All-State Football team, as voted on by the South Dakota Football Coaches Association. Madison senior quarterback Tyler Tappe was one of two quarterbacks named to the All-State team. Tappe threw for 2,227 yards and 18 touchdowns this season, while adding one rushing score as well. In his two seasons as a Bulldogs starter, Tappe threw for over 4,000 yards and had 40 total career touchdowns. 

Also named to the All-State team was Cody Brown. As an offensive lineman he helped the Bulldogs average over 24 points per game. On defense Brown racked up 92 tackles, 18 for a loss, and 6 sacks, leading the Bulldogs in each category. 

The 11A State Champions from Canton had 5 players named to the All-State team, as did Tea Area. The C-Hawks were led by Kayden Verley who was named as a running back and place kicker, after setting a state record with 511 points in his career. 

First Team Offense

Quarterback – Tyler Tappe, Sr., 6-2, 175, Madison.

Quarterback – Josh Arlt, Sr., 6-0, 185, Lennox.

Fullback/H-back – Cooper Maras, Sr., 6-1, 210, West Central.

Running back – Kayden Verley, Sr., 6-0, 190, Canton.

Running back – Joey Headrick, Sr., 5-9, 150, Tea Area.Wide receiver – Caleb Metcalf, Sr., 6-1, 185, Lennox.

Wide receiver – Logan Ellingson, Sr., 5-11, 150, Dell Rapids.

Tight end — Zach Witte, Sr., 6-6, 225, Sioux Falls Christian

Lineman – Cody Brown, Sr., 6-4, 264, Madison

Lineman – Drew Van Regenmorter, Sr., 6-2, 205, Dell Rapids.

Lineman – Austin Metivier, Sr., 6-0, 275, Lennox.

Lineman – Tadd Green, Sr., 6-2, 215, Dakota Valley.

Lineman – Zach Richardson, Sr., 6-3, 250, Canton


Defensive end – Luke Rettedal, Jr., 6-0, 230, Tea Area

Defensive end – Braeden Wright, Sr., 6-3, 220, Dakota Valley.

Defensive tackle – Kaleb Johnson, Sr., 6-1, 195, Lennox.

Defensive tackle – Cody Schultz, Jr., 6-3, 240, Dell Rapids.

Linebacker – Shaeden Scheidt, Sr., 6-0, 200, Canton

Linebacker – PJ Parmalee, Sr., 6-0, 200, Tea Area

Linebacker – Mohamed Ibrahim, Sr., 5-11, 190, Tri-Valley.

Linebacker – Coby Maeschen, Jr., 6-3, 215, Dell Rapids.

Defensive back – Derek Eidsness, Jr., 6-2, 175, West Central.

Defensive back – Dathon Elmore, Sr., 5-9, 161, Custer.

Defensive back – Joe Walnofer, Sr., 6-2, 175, Tea Area.

Defensive back – Isaac Dietzenbach, Sr., 6-10, 180, Canton.

Special teams

Kicker – Verley

Punter – Kaden Johnson, Jr., 5-9, 155, Tea Area.

Special teams player – Max McCullough, Sr., 6-4, 210, Milbank.

Special teams player – Kelby Olson, Sr., 6-2, 175, Belle Fourche

Honorable Mention

Micaich Grace, Sr., Custer; Jackson Tyndall, Sr., Belle Fourche; Will Daughtery, Sr., Lennox; Ashaun Roach-Valandra, Jr., Todd County; Noah Randall, Sr., Dell Rapids; Caden Hank, Sr., Tea Area; Sam Stahl, Sr., Canton; Carter Sandholm, Jr., West Central; Zach Brady, Soph., Vermillion; Haden Mandel, Sr., Lennox; Evan Foster, Jr., Dakota Valley.