Madison’s Jeff Schemmel To Be Inducted Into South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame

Fifteen people will be inducted into the South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame during a banquet and induction ceremony scheduled for Sunday, September 25th at the Sioux Falls Convention Center. Jeff Schemmel of Madison, the first native South Dakotan to break the four-minute mile mark in track, will be inducted with 14 others: Janel Birrenkott, Bryan Brewer, Jill Christensen, Doug Clark, Dr. Kathie Courtney, Gary Evjen, Gene Johnson, Megan Mahoney, Bill Mathews, Alan Miller, Tom Rudebusch, Paul Tierney,  and Vince Whipple.

The South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame was started by the South Dakota Sportswriters in 1969. This year’s class brings the total of inductees to 314. Information about tickets to the event will be released at a later date.