Appelwick One of 15 Members to be Inducted into SDIC Hall of Fame

Tomorrow, 15 new members will be inducted into the SDIC Men’s Basketball Hall of Fame, with Madison’s Gene Appelwick being one of the newly inducted members. 

Appelwick attended both Madison High School and Dakota State University, where he starred as a basketball player when it was General Beadle State Teachers College through his senior year in 1961, and at the time was DSU’s career leading scorer. 

As a Junior, Appelwick was a second team all-conference (S.D. Intercollegiate Conference) and then was a first-team player as a senior.

A list of the full 2022 Hall of Fame class can be found below.

The induction ceremony will be held tomorrow, November 30th at 1pm at the Prime Time Tavern in Madison. For those interested in attending, please contact Myron Moen at (605) 651-8322. 

Inductees will also be introduced at halftime of tomorrow’s Dakota State men’s basketball game when they host Dakota Wesleyan. 


SDIC Men’s Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2022

Name High School College Year
Gene Appelwick Madison GB/DSU 50s
Brad Bouche Mitchell Black Hills State 80s
Bruce Bad Moccasin Pierre SD Tech 70s
Billy Christensen Canton Northern State 70s
Steve Hammer Pierpont Huron College 70s
Mick Hoglund Hamlin Sioux Falls College 80s
Terry Jordre Corona Northern State 50s
Jim Martin Chamberlain Dakota Wesleyan 70s
Tom Miller Stickney Dakota Wesleyan 70s
Jeff Palzgraf Auburn- Rockford,Ill SD Tech 80s
Jim Stoebner Tripp Dakota Wesleyan 80s
Riley Goza Rockford, I’ll Dakota Wesleyan 60’s (D)
Lon Nelson Clark USD/S. 70’s (D)
Gerald Sayler Aberdeen C. Northern 50’s (D)
Jeff Stevens Fargo South BlackHills 90’s
Please note the last four inductees are deceased.