Sobriety checkpoints planned for January

The state’s Department of Public Safety will continue its sobriety checkpoint program in 2019 with fifteen checkpoints planned in January.

The program is designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving. Monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol.

Checkpoints are scheduled this month for thirteen different counties.

Checkpoints will be held in the counties of: Brown, Beadle, Charles Mix, Clay, Codington, Davison, Day, Lawrence, Minnehaha, Meade, Moody, Pennington and Roberts.