Seven candidates seeking school board seats in Chester this Tuesday

Voters in the Chester Area School District will head to the polls on Tuesday to elect three members to the Chester Area School Board. The seats up for election this year are those of board member Leon Gerry, Vice-President Keith Alverson, and President Darin Seeley. 

Seeley and Alverson are both seeking re-election to their terms. Five others are seeking election as well. Those five include Julie Delfs, Brittany Schefer, John Nelson, Helen Mogan, and Janet Park. 

The high number of individuals seeking election comes after a tumultuous last year for the Chester Area School Board, that involved multiple long executive sessions to discuss personal matters, and culminated with hundreds of citizens attending an emotional and contentious meeting in December. 

Tuesday’s election location is the lobby of the Chester Area School, and the polls will be open from 7am to 7pm. Absentee voting is also available today from 7:30am to noon, and Monday from 7:30 to 3:30.