Polls in Lake County open until 7pm for Primary Election

Today is the primary election in South Dakota. Polls are open until 7:00 tonight.

 There are no statewide races on this year’s primary ballot, but there are a handful of local elections. Republican voters in Lake County will choose from two candidates for District 8 State Senator, incumbent Casey Crabtree and Rick Weible. 

In the Republican District 8 House race, three candidates are vying for two spots in the November general election. Incumbent Tim Reisch is seeking another term in the House. The other candidates are former Lake County Sheriff Tim Walburg, and former Sioux Valley School Board Member Matt Wagner. 

Two Candidates are seeking the Republican nomination for Lake County State’s Attorney. Wendy Kloeppner has served in that role since 2018. Aaron McGowan was the Minnehaha State’s Attorney as a democrat from 2009 until resigning in 2019. 

There are also four Republicans running for the three nominations for Lake County Commission. Incumbents Adam Leighton, Deb Reinicke, and Dennis Slaughter are all seeking reelection, along with challenger Ryan Gebauer. 

Democrats in Lake County have just the presidential nomination on their primary ballot.

KJAM will have election results tonight on the air and online, as well as on our social media sites.


Polling places in Lake County

  • Chester-Franklin  at the Chester Fire Hall 
  • Concord-Badus-Wayne/Ramona at the Ramona Parish Hall
  • Farmington-Leroy-Clarno-Orland at the Dakota Prairie Playhouse 
  • Herman-Winfred at the Dakota Prairie Playhouse 
  • Lakeview at the  Dakota Prairie Playhouse 
  • Nunda-Summit at the Nunda Fire Hall 
  • Madison  Ward One, Ward Two and Ward 3 at the Dakota Prairie Playhouse.
  • Wentworth-Rutland  at Wentworth Fire Hall