15 MHS grads receive Evelyn Krueger Jones Scholarships from MCSEF

15 members of the Class of 2024 will each receive a $725 Evelyn Krueger Jones Scholarship from the Madison Central School Educational Foundation.  The recipients are:: Keara Wagner, Jessica Tappe, Ella Peterreins, Manuel DeCastro, Taylor Buthe, Spencer Reverts, Georgianna Kolbeck, Dylan Riedel, Anna Blessinger, Danny Cao, Margaret Engebretson, Audrey Nelson,  Karly Lurz, Katie Klein, and Aaron Hawkes. These students graduated with a 4.0 or greater grade point average, which qualified them to receive an Evelyn Krueger Jones Scholarship. 

Renae Prostrollo,  Madison Central School Educational Foundation Director says, over $45,000 in scholarship money was awarded to members of the Class of 2024 through the generous support of their scholarship donors. These graduates should be very proud of their accomplishments.”

Evelyn Krueger was a member of the Madison High School Class of 1930.  After graduation, she obtained her teaching certificate at Eastern State Normal School and taught for one year in Junius.  She earned a degree in library science from George Peabody College in Nashville, Tennessee, and a B.S. in nursing from Yale University.   Three years after her husband’s death in 1996, she moved to Bethel Lutheran Home in Madison, where she passed away in September of 2001.  The couple had no children and were philanthropic, giving back to their communities to support causes they felt were important, such as higher education.

The Evelyn K. Jones Endowment’s earnings are used to fund these scholarships in her name.  Dr. John Sweet, former District Superintendent, credited Evelyn Jones’ gift as being the impetus that started the Educational Foundation.  The MCSEF has awarded 175 Evelyn K. Jones Scholarships since 2004.