Weather Alert

South Dakota High School Coaches Association releases Academic All State List

The South Dakota High School Coaches Association has released the athletes that received that Academic All State honor.  These SENIOR athletes have shown outstanding academic achievement during their high school careers.  To be eligible for Academic All State an athlete must have a cumulative 3.5 or higher GPA and played High School Basketball for at least 3 years.  

Seven MHS athletes were named to Academic All State.  Logan Allbee, Carter Bergheim and Conner Hively from the Boys Basketball team and Abby Brooks, Emmi Clark, Juliana Hodges and Sophia Vanden Bosch from the Girls Basketball Team.

Howard High School also had 7 athletes on the list.  Sam Aslesen, Tisyn Spader and Samuel Callies from the Boys Basketball team and Kenedy Koepsell, Abby Connor, Riley Laible and Saddie Palmquist from the Girls Basketball team.  

Olivia Baumberger, Braiden Westley and Kennedi Landis were named Academic All State for Colman/Egan. 

Derrick Eich and Griffin Anderson were named Academic All State for West Central.

The SD High School Coaches Association also chose their Region Basketball Coaches for the year.  Mitchell Brooks from Madison High School was named Assistant Girls Coach of the Year for Region 2.  In Region 5 there was a 3 way tie for Assistant Boys Basketball Coach of the year.  Ryan Spader of Howard High School shared the honor with Michael Putnum of Brandon Valley High School and Justin Sheppard from Sioux Falls Christian. 

You can find a complete list of the Basketball Coaches of the year and the Academic All State list below:

2021 Academic All State – Boys

2021 Academic All State – Girls

Region Basketball Coach of the Year Awards

Connect With Us Listen To Us On