MHS Student Part of the Youth Trooper Academy

High school students from 18 different South Dakota school districts including Olivia Meehan from  Madison High School are in Pierre this week experiencing an inside look at the diversity involved in the career of a State Trooper.

  More than 20 students are attending this week’s 11th annual Youth Trooper Academy at the Mickelson Law Enforcement Training Center in Pierre. The academy is sponsored by the Highway Patrol and South Dakota American Legion.   The weeklong academy wraps up with Friday’s graduation ceremony.

Academy participants were selected by representatives from the Highway Patrol and American Legion. Most students are high school juniors or seniors.

 “Many of our graduates have become State Troopers, Deputy Sheriffs, City Police Officers, DCI Agents, Conservation Officers, and 911 Dispatchers” said Larry Price, Chairman of the South Dakota American Legion’s Public Safety Committee.

 Those attending the Youth Trooper Academy and their high schools are                                  

Kalie Barcklay, Centerville High School

Victor Collins, Douglas High School

Bryce Crawford, Tea Area High School 

Colin DeGarmo, Douglas High School 

Brandon Forrette, Huron High School 

Case Gunnell, Central High School 

Sunny Hall, Pierre T.F. Riggs 

Travis Harms, Harrisburg High School 

Cheyenne Hunnewell, Bon Homme

Jayce Kuechenmeister, Brookings High School 

Carter Locy, Sioux Falls Jefferson

Olivia Meehan, Madison High School

Bryce Mitchell, Lead/Deadwood High School 

Sarah Poncelow, Wessington Springs 

Emily Sachtjen, Winner High School 

Nikolos Sasse, Yankton High School 

Jake Simonsen, West Central

Kyera Sivage, Pierre T.F. Riggs

Nathanael VanGerpen, Gayville-Volin High School 

Joshua Vermundson, Pierre T.F. Riggs 

Jaden Wajer, Dell Rapids High School

Zayne Winson, Huron High School.