A couple of area counties are included in the list of those where sobriety checkpoints will be conducted this month, according to the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.  

Thirteen sobriety checkpoints in eleven different counties are planned for this month.  Checkpoints are planned in Lake and Minnehaha counties, along with nine other counties.  August checkpoints are also scheduled for the counties of: Brown, Codington, Fall River, Jones, Lincoln, Meade, Pennington, Spink, and Yankton.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. 


August 3, 2022