Sobriety checkpoints planned for the month of June

Sobriety checkpoints are planned for fifteen counties statewide during the month of June, according to the state Department of Public Safety.

The twenty total checkpoints are designed to encourage people not to drink and drive. The monthly checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Area counties where June checkpoints are scheduled include:  Brookings, Codington, Davison, Lincoln and Minnehaha.  Other counties include Clay, Day, Edmunds, Jackson, Jerauld, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington, Spink, and Walworth.

Public Safety officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. 



June 2, 2022