State Department of Public Safety officials say sobriety checkpoints are planned this month in 18 counties statewide.

November checkpoints in our area are planned for the counties of: Aurora, Beadle, Brookings, Codington, Davison, Lake,  Lincoln, and Minnehaha.

Checkpoints are done monthly in different counties as a way to discourage drivers from drinking and then driving.  The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.