Sixteen sobriety checkpoints in twelve counties are planned statewide this month, according to the South Dakota Department of Public Safety.  The checkpoints are designed to discourage people from drinking and then driving.

Area counties involved in the checkpoints for December include:  Moody, Minnehaha, Beadle and Codington.  Other counties are Bennett, Brown, Butte, Clay, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyman and Pennington.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.

  The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.