A fifth Republican candidate has filed nominating petitions for a seat on the Lake County Commission.  Incumbent commissioner Dennis Slaughter of Madison filed his nominating petitions on Wednesday with the Lake County Auditor’s Office.  Slaughter joins four other candidates in the Republican primary election for Lake County Commission. Others who have also filed nominating petitions include incumbent commissioners Deb Reinicke of Madison and Roger Hageman of Ramona, along with Adam Leighton of Rutland and Phillip Wohlers of Madison.  One Democrat, John Doblar of Madison, has also filed nominating petitions so far in the Lake County Commission election.  

There are three seats up for election on the Lake County Commission this year.  County Commissioners serve four year terms.

Another nominating petition has also been filed with the state for the District 8 House of Representatives.  Democrat Val Parsley of Madison filed her nominating petitions with the Secretary of State’s Office this week.  Val Parsley joins Republican incumbent Representatives Marli Wiese of Madison and Randy Gross of Elkton in the District 8 House race.  

So far only one candidate has filed nominating petitions for the District 8 Senate seat and that’s incumbent Senator Jordan Youngberg of Brant Lake.  

The deadline to file nominating petitions for the June primary election is March 31st.  

Petitions for the county office elections must be filed with the county Auditor’s Office, while petitions for state office elections must be filed with the Secretary of State’s Office.  

The deadline for filing nominating petitions to run as an independent candidate in the general election is April 28th.