SD Sobriety Checkpoints

 The South Dakota Department of Public Safety is planning 20 sobriety checkpoints in 15 different counties during the month of September.

Checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Lake, Moody, Minnehaha, Pennington, Beadle, Day, Codington, Lawrence, Edmunds, Hughes, Charles Mix, Mellette, Stanley, Walworth, Clay.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive and are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.