SD November Sobriety Checkpoints Announced

The South Dakota Department of Public Safety has announced plans for 13 sobriety checkpoints in 13 different counties during the month of November.

Checkpoints are scheduled for the counties of: Lake and Minnehaha as well as Beadle, Brown, Butte, Clay, Codington, Day, Edmunds, Jackson, Lyman, Meade and Pennington.

The monthly checkpoints are designed to encourage people to not drink and drive. The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

Officials remind drivers not to drink and drive regardless of whether there is a checkpoint planned in their county. People who have been drinking are urged to designate a sober driver or take an alternate form of commercial or public transportation.