MCSEF and donors present scholarships to MHS graduates

The Madison Central School Educational Foundation and it’s scholarship donors presented more than 30-thousand dollars in scholarships to this year’s graduating seniors at Madison High School.  

Twenty-three students received a variety of scholarships.  With the school year ending in March because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the donors and board members were not able to present the awards in person.  Foundation Executive Director Renae Prostrollo said that the scholarship donors value education and were happy to award the scholarships regardless of the situation.  She said that donors give scholarships as a way to give back to Madison High School and as a meaningful way to honor their loved ones.

A listing of this year’s Madison Central School Educational Foundation scholarship recipients can be found below:

The LaMonte & Marian Wiese Scholarship was presented to Seth Christiansen,who will be attending SDSU.

The Timothy & Monica Campbell Scholarship was awarded to Hannah LeMair, attending SDSU.

The DSU Blue & Gold Scholarship was given to Katrina Kauffman, attending DSU.

The Cancer Club Scholarship members awarded Tyler Tappe and Cali Eliason with their scholarship, in which both recipients will be attending DSU.

The Jerry Johnson 1st Responders Scholarship was awarded to Nathan Meyer, who will be attending Southeast Tech.

The Jim Thompson Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Colby Mennis. Mennis will attend SDSU.

The MHS STEM Scholarship to Peyton Bern and Claire Boyko. Bern will be attending SDSU majoring in Civil Engineering and Boyko will be attending USD, majoring in Biomedical Engineering.

The Glen Wilbur Memorial Scholarship was presented to Tessia Keller, who will be attending Wayne State University.

Two Ben Bundy Memorial Scholarships were presented to Grace Nelson and Daniel Bounds, in recognition of their school and community involvement and their concern for the well-being of other people.

The Jim Cordts Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Kaden Krusemark, Ammon Hawkes, Briana Steuerwald, Cali Eliason, and Nick Kessler in recognition of their participation in cross country, and demonstrating good character, leadership, community service and generosity-all traits that Jim Cordts embodied.

 The Julian Freitag Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Lily Wolff in recognizing her participation in school and community activities, and exemplifying the spirit in which their son, Julian, lived-loving life, family and friends; appreciating his hometown, and bringing a smile and a helping hand to those who needed it.

The Dennis Hegg Memorial Scholarship was given to  Caroline Graham for her commitment to band at MHS.

The Mary Johnson Memorial Scholarship was given to Carlie Terrall who plans to take foreign language classes at Augustana.

A joint scholarship between the Madison Education Association and the MCSEF requires evidence of leadership experience and community service. The MEA/MCSEF Scholarship awarded to Ailin Montgomery and Anthony Peters.

The Rotary/Don E. Gross Memorial Scholarship was given to Mya Maxwell, in recognition of her work ethic and academic achievement.

The George & Marcene Scully Scholarship was given to Callie Bursing, in recognition of her academic achievement and involvement in student leadership.