Weather Alert

Local law enforcement receive Medal of Honor

Pictured L-to-R: Lake County Sheriff Tim Walburg, Ben Gant, Sarina Talich, Grant Lanning, Micah Hofman, and Madison Police Chief Justin Meyer

Four local law enforcement officers have been recognized with an award presented by the South Dakota Police Chiefs’ and Sheriffs’ Associations.  Recently at the groups’ joint conference in Deadwood, three Lake County Sheriff’s Deputies and one Madison Police Officer received the groups’ Medal of Honor.  The award was presented to Lake County Chief Deputy Sarina Talich, and Deputies Grant Lanning and Micah Hofman, along with Madison Police Officer Ben Gant, for their work during an incident that happened on September 30th of 2020.

The Medal of Honor is presented to law enforcement officers who willingly distinguish themselves through an act of courage, involving a risk of imminent serious injury or death, for the purpose of saving or protecting a human life or while taking an armed and immediately dangerous suspect into custody.  

Connect With Us