Weather Alert

Leadership South Dakota to kick off new class this fall

Leadership South Dakota has selected 42 class members for it’s next eight-month leadership program. This class represents the 8th class to participate in Leadership South Dakota and will kick off the first session in Pierre this September. Leadership South Dakota is a statewide program with a mission to engage citizens from across the state. It provides participants with the background, unique experiences and insights necessary to be successful in leadership positions.

Nate Jones with Heartland Consumers Power District in Madison is one of the participants in this year’s Leadership South Dakota program.

Participants were selected from a diverse background of occupations and locations throughout the state. During their time in the program, the 2022 class will travel across South Dakota and study topics specific to each region.

A full list of class members is provided below and can also be viewed at

Class of 2022
Jason Ahrendt – State Farm – Jason Ahrendt Agency
Joe Batcheller – Downtown Sioux Falls
Valeriah Big Eagle – South Dakota State University
Beau Bryan – Sammons Financial Group
Scott Carbonneau – First PREMIER Bank
Sarah Delaney – Marsh & McLennan
Shala Eisenbeisz – First PREMIER Bankcard
Jamie Hajek – Northwestern Energy
Matt Hammer – Lawrence & Schiller
Rocky Hayes – Rocky Hayes Design
Chris Hintz – Pinnacle Productions
Alyssa Howard – Sanford Health
Nate Jones – Heartland Consumers Power District
Benson Langat – Family Service Inc.
Michele Loobey-Gertsch – Monument Health
Derrick Marks – Yankton Sioux Tribe
Sean Melmer – First PREMIER Bank
Nakina Mills – Indian Health Services
Marsha Nichols – Black Hills Energy
Tracy Olson – Avera Health
Jackie Payne – FranklinCovey
Paige Pearson Meyer – Midco Communications
Andrea Polkinghorn – Sanford Health
Ryan Punt – SDN Communications
Scott Radigan – POET
Chelsea Randall – Oglala Sioux Lakota Nursing Home
Erick Rangel – City of Brookings
Erin Rinehart – Raven Industries
Caroline Rothe – Valley Queen
Casey Schultz – Caliber Creative
Ali Sheley – Dakota Resources
Tom Shields – Great Western Bank
Andrew Sloss – Brookings Economic Development Corporation
Scott Spencer – First Interstate Bank
Amanda Spiering – South Dakota Trust Company
Katie Studer – Avera Health
Rebecca Trefz – Dakotas Conference of the United Methodist Church
Christina Ward – Sanford Health
Carleen Wild – South Dakota Magazine
Karly Winter – South Dakota Community Foundation
Rebecca Zabel – Prairie Family Business Association
Beka Zerbst – U.S. Senate – Office of John Thune

Connect With Us