Lake County Commission supports Water Development District changes
Lake County

Representatives from the Vermillion Basin and East Dakota Water Development Districts met with Lake County Commissioners Tuesday to determine if they are still interested in having some portions of the county change districts.  The commission approved a resolution four years ago supporting the expansion of the Vermillion Basin Water Development District.  Brad Preheim with the Vermillion district, said that they are trying to create a district that would encompass the entire Vermillion Watershed.  Currently, the district includes Turner and Clay counties, but Preheim said that McCook County voters last week approved a ballot measure adding them to the district also.  

The portion of Lake County that would switch from the East Dakota to the Vermillion Basin Water Development District would be five townships in the western part of the county, including Wayne, Concord, Winfred, Clarno, and Orland.  

Jay Gilbertson with the East Dakota District told commissioners that with the addition of McCook County and the portions of the other counties, the number of members would move the district into needing more people to serve on its board of directors.  

Gilbertson and Preheim were also planning to meet with Miner and Kingsbury county commissioners to discuss the plan.  Gilbertson is also working on what will need to be presented to the state legislature for its approval for the expanded district.  

County commissioners are planning to approve a new resolution supporting the expansion and changes in water development districts. 



November 16, 2022