Two incumbents and one newcomer have been elected to serve on the Lake County Commission.  In unofficial results from Tuesday’s general election in Lake County, Adam Leighton was the top vote-getter with 3665 votes, followed by incumbent commissioner Deb Reinicke with 3636 votes, and incumbent commissioner Dennis Slaughter with 3402 votes.   John Doblar received 23-hundred votes in Tuesday’s election.  The top three vote-getters – Leighton, Reinicke, and Slaughter – will now serve four-year terms on the Lake County Commission. Results from Tuesday’s election are considered unofficial until they are canvassed by the Lake County Commission during its meeting on Thursday.

Voter turnout in Lake County was at close to 70-percent.  

Lake County Auditor Paula Barrick said that the county had 3221 absentee ballots cast for Tuesday’s general election. 

The two incumbent Representatives will return to the state Legislature for District 8.  Republicans Marli Wiese and Randy Gross were re-elected in Tuesday’s general election. 

In unofficial results in the election, Wiese was the top vote-getter with 36-percent of the vote, and Gross received 32-percent.  Democrat Val Parsley received 22-percent, and John Kessinger received 11-percent of the vote in Tuesday’s election. 

District 8 Senator Casey Crabtree ran unopposed in the general election.

District 8 is made up of Lake, Miner, Moody, and Sanborn counties.  Voter turnout in Lake County was at close to 70-percent, Miner County was at 74-percent, Moody County’s voter turnout was 78-percent, and Sanborn County had 77-percent voter turnout in Tuesday’s election.

A link to all of the Lake County election results can be found online on our website at, just click on the Election 2020 banner.