Governor Noem closes state offices in eight northeast SD counties for winter storm

Gov. Kristi Noem ordered all state government executive branch offices in eight northeast South Dakota counties to be closed until noon Wednesday, February 15th, due to blizzard conditions.

The order impacts Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Marshall, and Roberts Counties.

A Blizzard Warning is in effect for that area until 9 a.m. CST Wednesday. Snowfall of three to five inches and wind gusts of up to 60 miles an hour are expected.

Interstate 29 is closed from Watertown to the North Dakota state line.

Travel has been impacted in several parts of South Dakota. For the latest road conditions, check, dial 511 or the SD511 mobile app.


Local weather-related announcements can be found here.


February 15, 2023