Weather Alert

Four schools named 2021 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Four South Dakota schools are among 325 schools nationwide recognized by the U.S. Department of Education this week as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2021.  The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

The state’s 2021 National Blue Ribbon Schools include:  Arlington Elementary School, Gettysburg Middle School, Pinedale Elementary School in Rapid City, and O’Gorman High School, Bishop O’Gorman Catholic Schools in Sioux Falls.  

The U.S. Department of Education recognizes schools in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates. All four of South Dakota’s 2021 National Blue Ribbon Schools are recognized in the Exemplary High-Performing Schools category for being among the state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

Connect With Us