Tomorrow is the deadline for nominating petitions to be filed for local and state elections for the June primary.  

So far in Lake County, five Republican candidates have filed petitions for one of three seats open on the Lake County Commission.  Incumbent commissioners Dennis Slaughter, Deb Reinicke, and Roger Hageman have all filed for re-election to their positions, along with candidates Adam Leighton  and Phillip Wohlers.

One Democrat has filed nominating petitions so far for the Lake County Commission election and that’s John Doblar.

Other county offices up for election this year are the State’s Attorney, Treasurer, and Coroner.  So far only the incumbents in these offices have filed nominating petitions for re-election, including State’s Attorney Wendy Kloeppner, Treasurer Debra Walburg, and Coroner Mark Rustand, who have all filed as Republicans.

In the District 8 House of Representatives race, there are two Republicans and one Democrat who have filed nominating petitions so far.  Republicans Marli Wiese of Madison and Randy Gross of Elkton have filed for re-election to their seats, and Democrat Val Parsley of Madison has also filed petitions to run for one of the District 8 House seats. 

So far only one candidate has filed nominating petitions for the District 8 Senate seat and that’s incumbent Senator Jordan Youngberg of Brant Lake.  

The deadline to file nominating petitions for the June primary election is Tuesday, March 31st.  County office petitions must be filed with the county Auditor’s Office, while petitions for state office elections must be filed with the Secretary of State’s Office.  

The deadline for filing nominating petitions to run as an independent candidate in the general election is April 28th.