The Lake County Commission reviewed applications and approved the six public members of the county’s Roads and Bridges Advisory Committee during its meeting on Tuesday.  Commissioners reviewed eight applications from people interested in serving on the advisory committee, and had to choose six of them to serve.  The commission approved the formation of the committee last month and took applications from those interested in serving on the committee.  At Tuesday’s meeting, commissioners approved having Charlie Johnson, Blake Neu, Dale Thompson, Misty Alfson, Daniel Lindholm and Jay Mennis serve on the committee. The other five members of the committee are Commissioners Deb Reinicke and Dennis Slaughter, County Highway Superintendent Nels Nelson, Auditor Paula Barrick, and Commission Administrative Officer Shelli Gust.  

Commissioner Slaughter said Tuesday what he envisions for the committee.  

Commissioners formed the committee to come up with recommendations regarding the county’s roads and bridges.  The discussion of the committee came about after commissioners decided in July against imposing a new tax levy in the county to help fund county road improvements.   According to the guidelines, the committee is intended to be informal, and meetings may be open to the public, but are not required to be.