2022 South Dakota Master Pork Producer Winners

The 2022 South Dakota Master Pork Producer winners were announced during the 54th Annual South Dakota Pork Congress in Sioux Falls.

Each year the South Dakota Master Pork Producers Association, composed of allied industry partners, and South Dakota State University Extension recognize outstanding pork producers in South Dakota, as well as help young people who may be interested in a future in pork production.

The four South Dakota hog operations recognized were Terry and Chad Stoterau, of Sherman; Steve Waldner, of Bridgewater; Nick Siemonsma, of Dell Rapids; and Dan Howell, of Volga. These producers, who showcase dedication and innovation in the field, were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the state’s swine industry. 

Ryan Samuel, a SDSU Extension Swine Specialist, said that the recognized individuals, “Demonstrate the commitment of South Dakota pork producers to the We Care Ethical Principles, including the commitment to animal well-being, contributions to their community, producing safe pork, and support for the South Dakota Pork Producers Council.” 

The We Care commitment is a comprehensive statement of ethics and sustainability that was launched in 2008 to promote responsible pork production in the U.S. It was developed by the National Pork Board, National Pork Producers Council, hog farmers and state organizations all across the country. 

The group’s 2021 Sustainability Report is available at www.porkcares.org.