Trojan’s Brown Listed as a Cliff Harris Award Nominee

More recognitions are coming in for Defensive Lineman Cody Brown of the Dakota State football team, as he was one of the 37 NAIA football players to be listed on the 2022 Cliff Harris Award nominees list.

The Little Rock Touchdown Club and Wright Lindsey Jennings, LLP have announced the nominees for the 9th Annual Cliff Harris award. The award is presented to the nation’s top small college defensive player representing more than 5,000 defensive players from almost 500 NCAA Division II, Division III, and NAIA colleges and universities.  

Brown was named to 2022 AFCA-NAIA Football All-America Honorable Mention defensive lineman, and was also named to the NSAA Football All-Conference First Team.  

He led the team with 16.5 tackles-of-loss of 78 yards, including nine quarterback sacks for 56 yards loss. Brown is fourth in DSU football history for single-season quarterback sacks. He added 54 tackles (27 solo, 27 assists) and two interceptions. 

The Cliff Harris award winner will be announced on December 30th, and will be honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s annual awards banquet on January 13th, 2023. The winner will receive the $3,000 Cliff Harris Award trophy presented by Cliff Harris along with featured speaker Joe Theismann.