Five Trojans Earn Daktronics-NAIA Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athletes Award

More awards are piling up for the Dakota State women’s basketball as five athletes collected the 2023 Daktronics-NAIA Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athletes award. The 2023 list featured 873 student-athletes that achieved at least 3.5 cumulative GPA  at their institution. 

In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport and have attended one full year at said institution.

The five Trojan athletes that are listed on the 2023 Daktronics-NAIA Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athletes are Elsie Aslesen, Sidney Fick, Angela Slattery, Savannah Walsdorf, and Miakken Vincent.

Dakota State, 27-6 overall record, prepares for the NAIA Women’s Basketball National Tournament Round of 16 on Tuesday afternoon, facing Carroll, 27-5 overall record. Tip-off is set for 3pm at Tyson Events Center in Sioux City, Iowa and the  game can be heard on FM 103.1 or online at