The Dakota State University Athletics department announced its annual awards last night, with the most outstanding athletes and Dusty Andersen Memorial awards being announced.  

There are two recipients to the DSU Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year.  The first recipient goes to Noah Guse of Trojan football program.

Guse was voted by the North Star Athletic Association football head coaches as the conference’s Defensive Player-of-the-Year. He is a three-time NSAA Football All-Conference selection, including First Team in 2020 and 2021 as well as Second Team in 2019.

Treshawn Roberts of DSU the track & field program was the other recipient of the DSU Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year. Roberts had an impressive 2022 track & field season where he swept both indoor and outdoor North Star Athletic Association multi-events titles for Dakota State, as well as gaining NAIA All-America status in both indoor and outdoor multi-events.

The Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year went to Jessi Giles, who received the award for the second consecutive year at Dakota State.  She completed her stellar four-year career at DSU as the all-time scoring leader in women’s basketball program history piling up a total of 1,955 points, breaking the previous school record held by Julie Fiegen with 1,637 points from 1982-86. 

She also competed for the Trojan women’s track & field team. In 2022, she helped DSU win the 4 x 400-meter relay title at the NSAA Indoor Track & Field Championships in Brookings. She has totaled 13 North Star Athletic Association All-Conference accolades combined in both women’s basketball and track & field at Dakota State, including four 4 x 400-meter relay champions.

The winner of the 2021 Dusty Andersen Memorial Award is Mason Macaluso, who is a part of the DSU baseball program. He led the team with a .382 batting average by going 73-of-191 at the plate.  He also produced a team-leading slugging percentage of .691 with 18 doubles, 13 home runs, a triple, and 41 singles.  He drove in 63 runs this season and registered an on-base percentage of .444.

The award is presented each year to an outstanding male basketball or baseball player who exhibits active participation in campus activities. The award is named Dusty Andersen, who was a letter-winner in both basketball and baseball at Dakota State from 1966 through 1969.