12 Trojan Football Players Receive NSAA All-Conference Honors

Earlier this week, twelve Dakota State football players were listed on the 2022 NSAA All-Conference teams and postseason awards, voted on by the league’s head coaches.

The four players to be named First Team All-Conference for the Trojans were Offensive Lineman Mose Timoteo, Defensive Lineman Cody Brown, Lineback JJ Beck, and Punter Noah Karwacki. 

Karwacki was also named to the Second Team All-Conference as a kicker. Other players for DSU to land on the Second Team for the NSAA were Running Back Tyce Ortman, Defensive Lineman Devonte Murphy, Linebacker Max Sonne, and Defensive Back Jay Skogerboe.

Offensive Lineman Joshua Shaffer, Linebacker Gustavo Bonilla, Tight End Travis Rebstock, and Wide Receiver Cooper McDermott received NSAA Football All-Conference Honorable mention. Rebstock also was selected as the NSAA Football Champions of Character for DSU.

It was the second year that Timoteo, Murphy, and Skogerboe were named to one of the two All-Conference teams for the NSAA. 

Dakota State finished their 2022 season with an overall record of 6-4, their second straight season with a winning record and identical record. The Trojans also finished in a two-way tie for second place in the North Star football standings with Valley City State with a 4-2 record each.

It was the first time since the 2017 season that the Trojans finished second in the North Star football conference standings. Dakota State closed out the 2022 season by winning four out of their last five games, and closing out with three straight wins, including the 13-0 victory over Waldorf in the Trojan Field finale.