Build Dakota Scholarship winners recognized

Several area students are attending classes at one of the state’s four technical institutes this fall after being awarded one of the state’s Build Dakota Scholarships.  Overall, 391 students have been awarded Build Dakota Scholarships for the 2019-2020 school year.  

The scholarships cover tuition and fees, books, equipment, and other related program expenses for eligible programs within nine high-need industry areas.  

At Lake Area Technical Institute in Watertown, area students receiving Build Dakota Scholarships this year include Teryl Hein of Madison and Aleighna Williams of Ramona in the Practical Nursing program, Taiten Leesch of Madison in the Med/Fire Rescue-Paramedic program, and Casey Renaas of Nunda in the Diesel Technology program.  

At Mitchell Technical Institute, area students receiving Build Dakota Scholarships include Thomas Gors of Madison in the Automation Controls program, Mason Lebeda in Precision Ag Technology, and Jennifer Waba in the Licensed Practical Nursing program.  

Governor Kristi Noem says students receiving these scholarships are able to launch their careers with a significantly reduced amount of student loan debt.  

The Build Dakota Scholarship program is funded by a 25-million dollar donation from T. Denny Sanford and 25-million dollars in Future Funds that were committed by former Governor Dennis Daugaard.

Scholarship applications for the next school year will open in January of 2020.  

More information on the Build Dakota Scholarship program can be found here.