Chester Area’s Eppard Named a Coach of the Year

Last week, the South Dakota Cross Country Track and Field Coaches Association Area Coaches of the Year honors were announced, and Julie Eppard of Chester Area was named the Area 2 Class B Coach of the Year.

Eppard coaches two runners to the state meet for the Flyers, who had one boy and one girl cross country runner compete in the SDHSAA Cross Country Meet last month. Daniel Swenson ran for the boys and Emery Larson ran for the girls. 

Larson’s time of 18:15.24 earned her a first place finish at the state meet in Huron. 

Swenson ran a time of 19:12.01 to earn a 39th place finish out of the 114 runners to run in the meet. 

Eppard was also previously voted this past summer as the South Dakota Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association Athletic Director of the Year and also the Athletic Director of the Year for the South Dakota High School Coaches Association.

She has been with the Chester Area School District since 2013.



Area I COTY 

  • Class A – Eric Townsend – Milbank
  • Class B – Jessica Larson – Potter County
  • Area 1 – Assistant COTY – Derek Boeckelheide – Northwestern

Area 2 / East COTY

  • AA East Girls – Tony Thoreson – Brandon Valley
  • AA East Boys – Luke Jelen – Sioux Falls Lincoln
  • Class A – Luke Vander Leest – Sioux Falls Christian Class B – Julie Eppard – Chester Area
  • Area 2 – Assistant COTY – Mike Putnam – Brandon Valley  Area 2 – Assistant COTY – Scott Cross – Elk Point Jefferson

Area 3 – COTY 

  • Class A – Stephanie McCord – Kimball/White Lake Class B – Larry Buffington – Gayville/Volin
  • Area 3 – Assistant COTY – Valerie Nelson – Chamberlain

Area 4 / West COTY 

  • AA West Boys – Jesse Coy – Rapid City Stevens
  • AA West Girls – Blake Proefrock – Sturgis
  • Class A – Russell Cournoyer – Red Cloud
  • Class B – Ralph Kroetch – Philip
  • Area 4 – Assistant COTY – Matt Osbourne – Aberdeen Central